Holiday plans…sort of

In Korea Christmas doesn’t seem to be a really big thing, what I mean by that is at my school we only have Christmas day off. And actually even for New Years we only have 2 days, we do have 3 days off for Chinese New Years in February though (although that fall during vacation so who cares really…). Anyway as I was saying it doesn’t seem to big a really big deal here, which seems kind of odd to me since a lot of Koreans are Catholic I think. I haven’t really seen any house decorations, I’ve seen a little but not to the extent that you would see in Canada or the US.

It’s fine with me really I don’t really do Christmas anyway, and I actually hate Christmas music (except for I think 3 songs). Back in Canada since my parents have been going to Florida every winter for the last few years so we don’t have any family events or anything; although I did go see them at Christmas a few times in Florida. I’m pretty sure my brother feels the same as me about Christmas (extra time off, yay!) so we don’t usually do anything either but we did go ice climbing last year which was an interesting experience.

Now that I am in Korea I still don’t really care much about Christmas which is reflected in the fact that I didn’t even realize that it was in less than 5 days. Anyway some of the girls I live with were talking about poutine the other day, and specifically about one restaurant. There is only one restaurant on Korea that we know of that makes proper poutine (with curd cheese), there is no curd cheese in Korea so this restaurant actually makes it’s own cheese. I went there once with some classmates who also wanted to try poutine, and it was pretty good. So my plans for Christmas day are to go to Itaewon to eat some poutine with some of the girls I live with. My new years plans are equally weird since I will be moving on New Years eve… More on that later, and pictures after I move of course 🙂

One thought on “Holiday plans…sort of”

  1. I loved Christmas in Korea! I was getting to the stage in my life, the first time I lived there, that I was over the Western way of celebrating it. With the overabundance of *everything*. So it was refreshing to have a break from all that. In Korea, it’s a day to visit ancestor’s graves and do a little bit of veneration to them. I think most of their religion can be considered a mix of ancient with modern Christianity – it’s a hybrid of the two so ancestor “worship” (for lack of a better word) is still very prominent. Enjoy your day off! But almost everything will still be open – malls and the like. Smaller shops might not be and banks won’t be. I had mail delivered Christmas day!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment