I’m back!

Well back to this blog, not back in Korea… I recently re read my entire blog because I was sort of feeling nostalgic I suppose and started thinking about going back to Korea. I noticed in reading that I apparently stopped writing in January 2018 I think it was, after I went to watch the Olympics. I ‘m trying to think about what else happened around that same time and why I would’ve stopped writing… and I’ve got nothing. I have no idea why I stopped writing. Well, whatever! I’ll just start from now then, well maybe I’ll talk a little bit about my last months in Korea as well. so let’s just start with that then.

The last time I wrote here was in 2018, just after watching Canada lose to the US for the first time in 20 years at the women’s hockey Olympic gold medal game. Although it was a really good game, it was super disappointing to see Canada lose the first time I got to watch an Olympic match live. I do remember that I enjoyed the game and got to chat with a Korean family that was sitting near me during the game. Even considering the outcome I had a lot of fun and it’s definitely something to remember.

I’m still thinking about why I stopped writing and I still can’t figure it out. Back then I also had a Facebook page and kept writing there so obviously nothing happened to make me want to completely stop writing. Eh, if it comes back to me I’ll let you know. Honestly though based on what I wrote on my Facebook page you didn’t miss much. The only interesting thing was when I went hiking at Seoraksan. It was really nice, lots of stairs, fresh air, lots of awesome views! There was a particular reason I went hiking though.

I believe I was in level 3 when I last wrote here. I hadn’t done particularly well on midterms and was feeling rather crappy. I had studied quite a bit and was really disappointed with the results of the exams. From that point on, having spent so much time studying and doing poorly on the exams, I lost a lot of motivation and basically stopped studying. I continued going to class of course and doing my homework, but did as little as I could get away with, even occasionally zoning out in class. I got hold of myself a little before the finals. Actually, I basically studied only the day before. And you know what? I got the best grades I ever got in Korea in that exam! It just confused me more though. During the few days between levels at that time, I suddenly, for no apparent reason, decided I wanted to go back home. So I dropped out of level 4 and started thinking about things I could do before going back home.

Unfortunately I didn’t think things through… Once I dropped out I lost my visa and had to leave the country within the next 10 days! So I just started packing and getting ready to go back. Now I’ve been back for a few years and I’m getting the itch to go back, I guess that’s why I decided to start writing again…

One thought on “I’m back!”

  1. Hi there, this sounds like a good plan, but hopefully not this year (war in Ukraine & Russia) How is everything there? Talk to you soon.

    Love you

    Mommy & Daddy ________________________________

    Like

Leave a comment